Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
 
News

No news in this list.

 

Clear Lake volcano

volcanic field 1439 m / 4,721 ft
California, USA, 38.97°N / -122.77°W
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Clear Lake volcanic field lies in the northern Coast Ranges, California, ca. 135 km north of San Francisco. The volcanic field consists of lava dome complexes, cinder cones, and maars of basaltic-to-rhyolitic composition. Mount Konocti, a dacitic lava dome on the south shore of Clear Lake, is the largest volcanic feature.
The area has intense gethermal activity, caused by a large, still hot silicic magma chamber about 14 km wide and 7 km beneath the surface. It provides the heat source for the Geysers, the world's largest producing geothermal field on the SW side of the volcanic field. Its geothermal power plants can generate approximately 2000 megawatts, enough to power two cities the size of San Francisco.
The latest volcanic activity happened about 10,000 years ago and formed maars and cinder cones along the shores of Clear Lake, the larges natural freshwater lake in California. Volcanism around Clear Lake is related to the complex San Andreas transform fault system.

[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: effusive (lava domes)
Clear Lake volcano eruptions: ca. 10,000 years ago

Last earthquakes nearby

TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Wed, 25 Nov 2020 (GMT)
24 Nov 10.23 pm (GMT -8) (25 Nov 2020 06:23:55 GMT)
0.6

1.8 km - More
16 km8km NW of The Geysers, CA, USA
24 Nov 8.08 pm (GMT -8) (25 Nov 2020 04:08:10 GMT)
0.8

3 km - More
18 km6km NW of The Geysers, CA, USA
24 Nov 5.24 pm (GMT -8) (25 Nov 2020 01:24:45 GMT)
0.6

1.6 km - More
16 km8km W of Cobb, CA, USA
Tue, 24 Nov 2020 (GMT)
24 Nov 3.05 pm (GMT -8) (24 Nov 2020 23:05:17 GMT)
0.8

3.1 km - More
18 km7km NW of The Geysers, CA, USA
24 Nov 2.50 pm (GMT -8) (24 Nov 2020 22:50:25 GMT)
0.9

1.8 km - More
15 km8km WNW of Cobb, CA, USA
View all recent quakes

Background

Volcanic activity has been largely non-explosive, with the exception of one major explosive eruption that must have occurred and deposited a airfall tuff. Most lavas found here range from basalt through rhyolite in composition, dacite being the most dominant type.

Eruptions at Clear Lake volcanic field:
4 eruptive episodes separated by time gaps of ca. 150-200,000 years have been recognized: 2.1-1.3 million years ago (m.y.), 1.1-0.8 m.y., 0.65-0.30 m.y., and 100,000-10,000 years ago. The total volume of about 100 individual eruptions exceeds 70 cubic kilometers.
Eruptive products from the first activity episode are found in the east of the field. The second activity episode constructed Cobb Mountain (1 million years, Ma) and Mount Hannah (0.9 Ma). The third episode of activity was at the Mount Konocti–Thurston Lake area, the most voluminous dacite and rhyolite feature of the Clear Lake volcanics.
The most recent activity, up to about 10,000 years ago were small mostly basaltic and andesitic eruptions in the north of the field.

Sources: GVP, NCGS (Northern California Geological Society)

Clear Lake Photos

Clear view onto the lava lake inside Marum's west crater. (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Clear view onto the lava lake inside Marum's west crater. (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Again the Nyiragongo lava lake. The red glow of the lava was clearly visible through the day. (Photo: shinkov)
Again the Nyiragongo lava lake. The red glow of the lava was clearly visible through the day. (Photo: shinkov)
The sun is just about to rise above the horizon. The lava lake is mostly crusted over and the dry weather makes for a very clear view onto the lake. (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
The sun is just about to rise above the horizon. The lava lake is mostly crusted over and the dry weather makes for a very clear view onto the lake. (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Thanks to the risen level of the lake, the rim near the campsite now offers unobstructed, perfect views of the whole lake. And thanks to the prevailing easterly winds, it is also usually clear of the fumes, perfect for observation. (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Thanks to the risen level of the lake, the rim near the campsite now offers unobstructed, perfect views of the whole lake. And thanks to the prevailing easterly winds, it...
 


Latest satellite images


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
 

More on VolcanoDiscovery

 
Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.