Latest earthquakes in China

Updated 2 Mar 2021 13:52 GMT -
During the past 30 days, China was shaken by 32 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 223 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 591 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 548 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0. There were also 160 quakes below magnitude 2.0 which people don't normally feel.
Biggest quake: 5.9 quake 96 km northeast of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China, 1 Feb 2021 3:27 pm (GMT +8)
Biggest quake today: 5.5 quake Philippines Sea, 47 km east of Hengchun, Pingtung, Taiwan, 2 Mar 2021 5:22 pm (GMT +8)
Most recent quake: 2.9 quake Xaignabouli, 93 km northeast of Nan, Thailand, 2 Mar 2021 7:27 pm (GMT +7)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
Show quakes!
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing most recent quakes and quakespast 30 days, magnitude 4.8 or higher (70 out of 1554 quakes, show more):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Tue, 2 Mar 2021 (GMT) (12 earthquakes)
2 Mar 2021 7:27 pm (GMT +7) (2 Mar 2021 12:27:32 GMT)
2.9

1 km
(655 km)Xaignabouli, 93 km northeast of Nan, Thailand
I FELT IT
MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 8:21 pm (GMT +8) (2 Mar 2021 12:21:31 GMT)
3.7

10 km
(266 km)Xinjiang, 73 km southeast of Druzhba, Alakol District, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 7:43 pm (GMT +8) (2 Mar 2021 11:43:00 GMT)
2.0

38 km
(90 km)South China Sea, 27 km southwest of Batac City, Ilocos Norte, Philippines MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 7:18 pm (GMT +8) (2 Mar 2021 11:18:24 GMT)
3.7

10 km
(222 km)56 km northeast of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 7:09 pm (GMT +8) (2 Mar 2021 11:09:00 GMT)
2.0

106 km
(120 km)South China Sea, 53 km west of Mamburao, Philippines MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 5:56 pm (GMT +8) (2 Mar 2021 09:56:00 GMT)
2.9

1 km
(83 km)10.8 km west of Cataingan, Masbate, Bicol, Philippines
I FELT IT
MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 3:48 pm (GMT +6) (2 Mar 2021 09:48:36 GMT)
2.7

10 km
(1127 km)73 km southwest of Pavlodar, Kazakhstan MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 5:22 pm (GMT +8) (2 Mar 2021 09:22:59 GMT)
5.5

10 km
(179 km)Philippines Sea, 47 km east of Hengchun, Pingtung, Taiwan
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 4:33 pm (GMT +8) (2 Mar 2021 08:33:00 GMT)
2.8

13 km
(149 km)South China Sea, 60 km west of Laoag City, Ilocos Norte, Philippines MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 2:07 pm (GMT +6) (2 Mar 2021 08:07:49 GMT)
2.3

10 km
(1265 km)125 km northwest of Pavlodar, Kazakhstan MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 1:36 pm (GMT +6) (2 Mar 2021 07:36:54 GMT)
4.5

10 km
(1078 km)69 km south of Aqsū, Pavlodar Region, Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
2 Mar 2021 2:33 pm (GMT +8) (2 Mar 2021 06:33:31 GMT)
3.8

10 km
(81 km)QINGHAI, CHINA
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Mar 2021 6:53 pm (GMT +8) (1 Mar 2021 10:53:41 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(445 km)XIZANG, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
28 Feb 2021 11:30 pm (GMT +9) (28 Feb 2021 14:30:13 GMT)
4.9

20 km
(114 km)Philippines Sea, 83 km south of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
27 Feb 2021 2:32 am (GMT +8) (26 Feb 2021 18:32:32 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(207 km)114 km south of Kucha, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
27 Feb 2021 1:02 am (GMT +8) (26 Feb 2021 17:02:29 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(237 km)8 km northwest of Aral, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 2:09 pm (GMT +5) (26 Feb 2021 09:09:51 GMT)
5.1

10 km
(408 km)Skardu, Northern Areas, 27 km west of Kargil, Ladakh, India
I FELT IT - 4 reports
MoreMap
26 Feb 2021 11:55 am (GMT +8) (26 Feb 2021 03:55:35 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(313 km)106 km southeast of Shache, Kashgar, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Thu, 25 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
25 Feb 2021 2:20 pm (GMT +6:30) (25 Feb 2021 07:50:20 GMT)
4.8

10 km
Singu Plateau (8 km) - Burma (Myanmar)37 km northeast of Shwebo, Sagaing Region, Myanmar (Burma)
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 1:29 pm (GMT +6) (25 Feb 2021 07:29:12 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(973 km)96 km northwest of Semey, East Kazakhstan
I FELT IT
MoreMap
25 Feb 2021 11:47 am (GMT +8) (25 Feb 2021 03:47:16 GMT)
5.1

10 km
(462 km)144 km southwest of Shache, Kashgar, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
Wed, 24 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
24 Feb 2021 12:34 pm (GMT +8) (24 Feb 2021 04:34:42 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(219 km)105 km east of Korla, Xinjiang, China
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 22 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
22 Feb 2021 9:50 am (GMT +8) (22 Feb 2021 01:50:49 GMT)
4.8

109 km
(172 km)Philippines Sea, 43 km southeast of Taitung City, Taiwan 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (4 earthquakes)
21 Feb 2021 10:10 pm (GMT +8) (21 Feb 2021 14:10:50 GMT)
5.2

10 km
(114 km)73 km south of Hotan, Xinjiang, China 1 reportMoreMap
21 Feb 2021 4:12 pm (GMT +8) (21 Feb 2021 08:12:23 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(215 km)251 km southwest of Hotan, Xinjiang, China 2 reportsMoreMap
21 Feb 2021 8:37 am (GMT +7) (21 Feb 2021 01:37:10 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(96 km)205 km northeast of Kyzyl, Republic of Tyva, Russia 3 reportsMoreMap
21 Feb 2021 01:35:58 GMT
5.2
(347 km)18 km west of Kachug, Irkutsk Oblast, Russia MoreMap
Fri, 19 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
19 Feb 2021 9:23 am (GMT +8) (19 Feb 2021 01:23:49 GMT)
5.1

10 km
(392 km)8.5 km northwest of Karamay, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
19 Feb 2021 9:18 am (GMT +8) (19 Feb 2021 01:18:44 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(405 km)15 km north of Karamay, Xinjiang, China 1 reportMoreMap
Wed, 17 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
18 Feb 2021 2:38 am (GMT +8) (17 Feb 2021 18:38:47 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(200 km)Philippines Sea, 70 km south of Taitung City, Taiwan MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
17 Feb 2021 12:57 am (GMT +9) (16 Feb 2021 15:57:56 GMT)
4.9

24 km
(101 km)Philippines Sea, 86 km south of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan 1 reportMoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Feb 2021 10:23 pm (GMT +8) (15 Feb 2021 14:23:11 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(153 km)27 km west of Turt, Khankh, Hövsgöl Aymag, Mongolia 1 reportMoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
14 Feb 2021 2:03 pm (GMT +8) (14 Feb 2021 06:03:03 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(330 km)212 km southeast of Korla, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
12 Feb 2021 10:01 pm (GMT +5) (12 Feb 2021 17:01:35 GMT)
5.8

1 km
(646 km)29 km southwest of Murghab, Gorno-Badakhshan, Tajikistan 5481 reportsMoreMap
12 Feb 2021 2:35 pm (GMT +8) (12 Feb 2021 06:35:56 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(457 km)SOUTHERN XINJIANG, CHINA MoreMap
12 Feb 2021 1:52 pm (GMT +9) (12 Feb 2021 04:52:25 GMT)
4.9

38 km
(137 km)Philippines Sea, 77 km south of Nishinoomote, Kagoshima, Japan MoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 9:35 pm (GMT +8) (11 Feb 2021 13:35:03 GMT)
4.8

155 km
(48 km)South China Sea, 28 km southwest of Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines 3 reportsMoreMap
11 Feb 2021 8:46 am (GMT +8) (11 Feb 2021 00:46:08 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(248 km)101 km southwest of Shihezi, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
11 Feb 2021 5:48 am (GMT +8) (10 Feb 2021 21:48:09 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(68 km)Xinjiang, 229 km southeast of Zharkent, Kazakhstan MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 9:14 pm (GMT +8) (9 Feb 2021 13:14:04 GMT)
5.1

10 km
(363 km)QINGHAI, CHINA MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 2:04 pm (GMT +8) (9 Feb 2021 06:04:41 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(108 km)115 km south of Turpan, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 10:51 am (GMT +8) (9 Feb 2021 02:51:14 GMT)
4.8

31 km
(77 km)South China Sea, 98 km northwest of Aparri, Philippines MoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (7 earthquakes)
9 Feb 2021 7:24 am (GMT +8) (8 Feb 2021 23:24:40 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(232 km)Sulu Sea, 53 km southwest of San Jose, Occidental Mindoro, Mimaropa, Philippines 5 reportsMoreMap
9 Feb 2021 5:13 am (GMT +8) (8 Feb 2021 21:13:53 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(247 km)56 km southwest of Zangguy, Hotan Prefecture, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
9 Feb 2021 12:58 am (GMT +8) (8 Feb 2021 16:58:03 GMT)
5.2

21 km
(51 km)Philippines Sea, 88 km southeast of Taipei, Taiwan 6 reportsMoreMap
9 Feb 2021 1:56 am (GMT +9) (8 Feb 2021 16:56:31 GMT)
5.1

63 km
(67 km)Philippines Sea, Japan, 77 km southeast of Yilan, Taiwan 2 reportsMoreMap
8 Feb 2021 9:39 pm (GMT +6) (8 Feb 2021 15:39:45 GMT)
5.1

10 km
(205 km)117 km south of Zharkent, Panfilov District, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 4:24 pm (GMT +7) (8 Feb 2021 09:24:29 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(499 km)136 km southeast of Khovd, Jargalant, Hovd, Mongolia MoreMap
8 Feb 2021 3:54 pm (GMT +8) (8 Feb 2021 07:54:12 GMT)
5.2

10 km
(181 km)South China Sea, 142 km west of San Antonio, Philippines 4 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 6 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 2:36 am (GMT +9) (6 Feb 2021 17:36:02 GMT)
5.3

105 km
(82 km)East China Sea, 37 km northwest of Yonaguni Island, Okinawa, Japan 4 reportsMoreMap
6 Feb 2021 2:22 pm (GMT +8) (6 Feb 2021 06:22:35 GMT)
5.7

10 km
(626 km)MONGOLIA, China MoreMap
6 Feb 2021 12:06 pm (GMT +8) (6 Feb 2021 04:06:54 GMT)
5.2

10 km
(392 km)8.5 km northwest of Karamay, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (5 earthquakes)
6 Feb 2021 4:18 am (GMT +8) (5 Feb 2021 20:18:19 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(306 km)86 km south of Aksu, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 8:24 pm (GMT +5) (5 Feb 2021 15:24:55 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(562 km)Ghizer District, 31 km northwest of Gilgit, Northern Areas, Pakistan MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 6:17 pm (GMT +6:30) (5 Feb 2021 11:47:40 GMT)
5.6

10 km
Singu Plateau (219 km) - Burma (Myanmar)Loilem District, 88 km northeast of Taunggyi, Shan State, Myanmar (Burma) 6 reportsMoreMap
5 Feb 2021 1:57 pm (GMT +8) (5 Feb 2021 05:57:12 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(110 km)Arhangay Aymag, 89 km northwest of Kharkhorin, Övörhangay, Mongolia 1 reportMoreMap
5 Feb 2021 1:05 pm (GMT +8) (5 Feb 2021 05:05:14 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(218 km)124 km south of Kucha, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Thu, 4 Feb 2021 (GMT) (9 earthquakes)
5 Feb 2021 7:49 am (GMT +8) (4 Feb 2021 23:49:50 GMT)
5.1

10 km
(225 km)Sulu Sea, 52 km southwest of San Jose, Occidental Mindoro, Mimaropa, Philippines 8 reportsMoreMap
5 Feb 2021 6:00 am (GMT +8) (4 Feb 2021 22:00:43 GMT)
5.1

10 km
(95 km)Philippines Sea, 8.3 km northwest of Paquita Island, Philippines 56 reportsMoreMap
5 Feb 2021 1:09 am (GMT +8) (4 Feb 2021 17:09:21 GMT)
5.5

10 km
(333 km)XIZANG, China 1 reportMoreMap
5 Feb 2021 1:02 am (GMT +8) (4 Feb 2021 17:02:07 GMT)
5.4

10 km
(261 km)63 km west of Zangguy, Hotan Prefecture, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
5 Feb 2021 12:14 am (GMT +8) (4 Feb 2021 16:14:04 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(306 km)226 km east of Aral, Xinjiang, China 1 reportMoreMap
4 Feb 2021 4:14 pm (GMT +8) (4 Feb 2021 08:14:03 GMT)
5.4

14 km
(120 km)Philippines Sea, 55 km north of North Island, Philippines 2 reportsMoreMap
4 Feb 2021 3:48 pm (GMT +8) (4 Feb 2021 07:48:11 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(162 km)South China Sea, 224 km west of Manila, Philippines 9 reportsMoreMap
4 Feb 2021 12:22 pm (GMT +6) (4 Feb 2021 06:22:42 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(348 km)75 km south of Tekeli, Eskeldi District, Almaty Oblysy, Kazakhstan MoreMap
4 Feb 2021 1:06 pm (GMT +8) (4 Feb 2021 05:06:25 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(886 km)157 km west of Xigaze, Tibet, China MoreMap
Wed, 3 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Feb 2021 2:28 pm (GMT +8) (3 Feb 2021 06:28:07 GMT)
4.9

10 km
(113 km)Xinjiang, 218 km southeast of Zharkent, Kazakhstan MoreMap
Tue, 2 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
2 Feb 2021 1:11 pm (GMT +7) (2 Feb 2021 06:11:02 GMT)
4.8

10 km
(1019 km)22 km west of Barnaul, Altay Kray, Russia 1 reportMoreMap
2 Feb 2021 10:31 am (GMT +8) (2 Feb 2021 02:31:14 GMT)
5.0

10 km
(886 km)156 km west of Xigazê, Tibet, China 1 reportMoreMap
Mon, 1 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Feb 2021 3:27 pm (GMT +8) (1 Feb 2021 07:27:49 GMT)
5.9

10 km
(233 km)96 km northeast of Huocheng, Ili Kazak Zizhizhou, Xinjiang, China MoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Interactive map
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 2.5 x 1014 joules (70.6 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 60730 tons of TNT or 3.8 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrsMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel