Latest earthquakes in or near Ecuador, past 30 days

Updated 7 Mar 2021 08:19 GMT -
During the past 30 days, Ecuador was shaken by 3 quakes of magnitude 5.0 or above, 7 quakes between 4.0 and 5.0, 15 quakes between 3.0 and 4.0, and 3 quakes between 2.0 and 3.0.
Biggest quake: 5.2 quake Canton Zamora, Provincia de Zamora-Chinchipe, 16 km east of Loja, Ecuador, 18 Feb 2021 5:51 am (GMT -5)
Most recent quake: 4.0 quake 32 km southeast of Talara, Piura, Peru, 5 Mar 2021 8:42 am (GMT -5)
...Read More
Filter by magnitude:
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
5.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (28 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Fri, 5 Mar 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
5 Mar 2021 8:42 am (GMT -5) (5 Mar 2021 13:42:12 GMT)
4.0

25 km
(425 km)32 km southeast of Talara, Piura, Peru
I FELT IT - 1 report
MoreMap
4 Mar 2021 10:36 pm (GMT -5) (5 Mar 2021 03:36:21 GMT)
2.3

4 km
Atacazo (16 km)7.7 km southeast of San Francisco de Quito, Ecuador MoreMap
Wed, 3 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3 Mar 2021 2:13 pm (GMT -5) (3 Mar 2021 19:13:56 GMT)
3.6

24 km
(141 km)16 km north of Chone, Provincia de Manabi, Ecuador
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
1 Mar 2021 3:13 am (GMT -5) (1 Mar 2021 08:13:52 GMT)
3.6

3 km
Cerro Negro de Mayasquer (1 km)29 km west of Tulcan, Provincia del Carchi, Ecuador
I FELT IT
MoreMap
Fri, 26 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
26 Feb 2021 3:09 am (GMT -5) (26 Feb 2021 08:09:49 GMT)
4.2

120 km
(202 km)Datem del Marañon, Loreto, 190 km southeast of Cuenca, Ecuador MoreMap
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
23 Feb 2021 9:00 am (GMT -5) (23 Feb 2021 14:00:27 GMT)
3.4

20 km
(206 km)Canton Jipijapa, 32 km southwest of Portoviejo, Provincia de Manabi, Ecuador 1 reportMoreMap
23 Feb 2021 6:31 am (GMT -5) (23 Feb 2021 11:31:17 GMT)
3.6

9 km
(181 km)South Pacific Ocean, 64 km north of Bahia de Caraquez, Ecuador MoreMap
Sun, 21 Feb 2021 (GMT) (3 earthquakes)
21 Feb 2021 3:43 pm (GMT -5) (21 Feb 2021 20:43:11 GMT)
3.6

5 km
(114 km)Rio Verde, 51 km east of Esmeraldas, Provincia de Esmeraldas, Ecuador MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 2:54 pm (GMT -5) (21 Feb 2021 19:54:36 GMT)
3.7

9 km
Cerro Negro de Mayasquer (198 km)North Pacific Ocean, 68 km west of Tumaco, Narino, Colombia MoreMap
21 Feb 2021 2:21 am (GMT -5) (21 Feb 2021 07:21:03 GMT)
4.0

5 km
(141 km)Condorcanqui, Amazonas, 1 km south of Macas, Ecuador 2 reportsMoreMap
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
19 Feb 2021 8:31 pm (GMT -5) (20 Feb 2021 01:31:05 GMT)
2.9

6 km
Pululahua (9 km)23 km northeast of San Francisco de Quito, Ecuador 1 reportMoreMap
Thu, 18 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
18 Feb 2021 5:51 am (GMT -5) (18 Feb 2021 10:51:29 GMT)
5.2

89 km
(237 km)Canton Zamora, Provincia de Zamora-Chinchipe, 16 km east of Loja, Ecuador 23 reportsMoreMap
18 Feb 2021 2:57 am (GMT -5) (18 Feb 2021 07:57:37 GMT)
3.7

6 km
(135 km)Canton Naranjal, 36 km southeast of Guayaquil, Provincia del Guayas, Ecuador MoreMap
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
16 Feb 2021 5:16 am (GMT -5) (16 Feb 2021 10:16:43 GMT)
3.9

20 km
(238 km)South Pacific Ocean, 50 km northwest of Machala, Provincia de El Oro, Ecuador MoreMap
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
15 Feb 2021 3:48 pm (GMT -5) (15 Feb 2021 20:48:52 GMT)
4.6

91 km
(245 km)Datem del Marañon, 257 km northwest of Yurimaguas, Peru MoreMap
14 Feb 2021 7:32 pm (GMT -6) (15 Feb 2021 01:32:02 GMT)
3.7

5 km
(406 km)North Pacific Ocean, 288 km northwest of Portoviejo, Ecuador MoreMap
Sun, 14 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
14 Feb 2021 1:46 pm (GMT -6) (14 Feb 2021 19:46:55 GMT)
4.5

59 km
(91 km)North Pacific Ocean MoreMap
13 Feb 2021 11:56 pm (GMT -5) (14 Feb 2021 04:56:35 GMT)
3.9

8 km
(293 km)South Pacific Ocean, 46 km northwest of Tumbes, Peru MoreMap
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Feb 2021 12:18 am (GMT -5) (13 Feb 2021 05:18:33 GMT)
5.2

75 km
(316 km)Zapotillo, Provincia de Loja, 99 km south of Machala, Ecuador 51 reportsMoreMap
Fri, 12 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12 Feb 2021 2:06 pm (GMT -5) (12 Feb 2021 19:06:10 GMT)
4.0

64 km
(107 km)Canton Cañar, 39 km northwest of Azogues, Provincia del Cañar, Ecuador 3 reportsMoreMap
Thu, 11 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
11 Feb 2021 2:15 am (GMT -5) (11 Feb 2021 07:15:56 GMT)
3.6

42 km
(140 km)Duran, 13 km east of Guayaquil, Provincia del Guayas, Ecuador MoreMap
10 Feb 2021 9:51 pm (GMT -5) (11 Feb 2021 02:51:27 GMT)
2.8

4 km
Tungurahua (12 km)Canton Patate, 20 km southeast of Ambato, Provincia del Tungurahua, Ecuador 1 reportMoreMap
Wed, 10 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
10 Feb 2021 6:13 am (GMT -5) (10 Feb 2021 11:13:49 GMT)
3.2

16 km
(188 km)North Pacific Ocean, 28 km west of Esmeraldas, Provincia de Esmeraldas, Ecuador MoreMap
Tue, 9 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8 Feb 2021 8:41 pm (GMT -5) (9 Feb 2021 01:41:00 GMT)
5.0

49 km
(393 km)Datem del Marañon, Loreto, 75 km north of Moyobamba, Region de San Martin, Peru 4 reportsMoreMap
Mon, 8 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7 Feb 2021 10:57 pm (GMT -5) (8 Feb 2021 03:57:35 GMT)
3.6

5 km
(106 km)Arajuno, Provincia del Pastaza, 67 km east of Puyo, Pastaza, Ecuador MoreMap
Sun, 7 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 earthquakes)
7 Feb 2021 4:50 pm (GMT -5) (7 Feb 2021 21:50:09 GMT)
3.7

10 km
(394 km)South Pacific Ocean, 146 km west of Tumbes, Peru MoreMap
7 Feb 2021 7:02 am (GMT -5) (7 Feb 2021 12:02:53 GMT)
4.0
(102 km)62 km south of Macas, Canton Morona, Provincia de Morona-Santiago, Ecuador 4 reportsMoreMap
Fri, 5 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
5 Feb 2021 11:09 am (GMT -5) (5 Feb 2021 16:09:41 GMT)
3.7

56 km
(330 km)South Pacific Ocean, 65 km west of Tumbes, Peru 2 reportsMoreMap
Depth and magnitude of quakes versus time plot
Earthquake depth plot
Interactive map
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 1.2 x 1013 joules (3.2 gigawatt hours, equivalent to 2749 tons of TNT or 0.2 atomic bombs!) More info

Earthquake archive

Look up past earthquakes:
Look up quakes!

Earthquake statistics

Number of earthquakes vs time:

Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy past 24 hours
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy past 30 days
Past 90 days:
Number of quakes vs time
Show more
Magnitude distribution and energy released:
Past 24 hrs:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 24 hrsMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 24 hrs
Past 7 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 7 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 7 days
Past 30 days:
Number of quakes and energy vs magnitude past 30 daysMagnitudes of quakes and energy vs time past 30 days
Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Weather reports
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Design upgrades
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Additional seismic data sources
  • Improved content in English
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | About us || Français | Deutsch
Follow us:
Follow us on facebookFollow us on TwitterVisit our Youtube channel