Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
24 Jun - 8 Jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
30 Jul - 13 Aug 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
Satellite image of Fuego volcano by (c) Google Earth View
Satellite image of Fuego volcano by (c) Google Earth View

Latest news from Fuego:

Fuego volcano

Stratovolcano 3,763 m / 12,346 ft
Guatemala, 14.47°N / -90.88°W
Current status: erupting (4 out of 5)
Last update: 25 Feb 2021 (Volcanic Ash Advisory)
An ash eruption from Fuego volcano seen from the distance

Fuego, one of Central America's most active volcanoes, is one of three large stratovolcanoes overlooking Guatemala's former capital, Antigua. It typically has strombolian activity and sometimes phases of intense lava fountaining, producing tall ash plumes and dangerous pyroclastic flows.

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: Dominantly explosive, construction of lava domes and extrusion of viscous lava flows. In near constant activity, at least during the past centuries.
Fuego volcano eruptions: 1581, 1585, 1586, 1587, 1614, 1617, 1620, 1623, 1629, 1679(?), 1685, 1686, 1689(?), 1699, 1702, 1705, 1706, 1709(?), 1710,1717,1730, 1732, 1737, 1751(?), 1765(?), 1773(?), 1799, 1826, 1829, 1850(?), 1852(?), 1855, 1856, 1857, 1860, 1861(?), 1867(?), 1880, 1896, 1932, 1944, 1949, 1953, 1955, 1957, 1962, 1963, 1966, 1967, 1971, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1977, 1987, 1999, 2002 - ongoing

Latest nearby earthquakes

TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Tue, 23 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
23 Feb 2021 7:38 am (GMT -6) (23 Feb 2021 13:38:41 GMT)
3.7

1 km - More
32 kmMunicipio de Amatitlan, 27 km south of Guatemala City, Municipio de Guatemala
Sat, 20 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
20 Feb 2021 12:52 am (GMT -6) (20 Feb 2021 06:52:27 GMT)
3.6

45 km - More
91 kmDepartamento de Retalhuleu, 43 km southwest of Mazatenango, Guatemala
Tue, 16 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Feb 2021 10:36 pm (GMT -6) (16 Feb 2021 04:36:20 GMT)
3.2

165 km - More
96 km24 km north of Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Mon, 15 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15 Feb 2021 2:31 pm (GMT -6) (15 Feb 2021 20:31:07 GMT)
4.3

54 km - More
128 km42 km west of Retalhuleu, Guatemala
Sat, 13 Feb 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
13 Feb 2021 2:16 am (GMT -6) (13 Feb 2021 08:16:43 GMT)
3.0

36 km - More
1 km41 km south of Retalhuleu, Guatemala

Background

Collapse of the ancestral Meseta volcano about 8,500 years ago produced a massive debris avalanche that traveled about 50 km onto the Pacific coastal plain. Growth of the modern Fuego volcano followed, continuing the southward migration of volcanism that began at Acatenango, the northern twin volcano of Fuego. Frequent vigorous historical eruptions have been recorded since 1524 and have produced major ashfalls, along with occasional pyroclastic flows and lava flows. The last major explosive eruption from Fuego took place in 1974, producing spectacular pyroclastic flows visible from Antigua.


Fuego volcano tours:
Volcanoes in the land of the Maya (15-days study trip and expedition to Guatemala's volcanoes)
Guatemala Volcano Special (8-day volcano tour to Pacaya and Fuego, Guatemala)

See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.