2 spots left on Iceland Geo Tour 16-30 July 2022

La Palma

Schildvulkan 2426 m
Canary Islands, 28.58°N / -17.84°W
Aktueller Status: normal / ruhend (1 von 5)
Last update: 3 Jun 2022
Eruption of La Palma's Cumbre Vieja in Sep 2021 (image: Tom Pfeiffer)
Eruption of La Palma's Cumbre Vieja in Sep 2021 (image: Tom Pfeiffer)

The 47-km-long wedge-shaped island of La Palma, the NW-most of the Canary Islands, is composed of two large volcanic centers.

Interaktive Karte zeigen
Typische Tätigkeit: effusiv
Ausbrüche: 2021 (Sep - ongoing), 1971, 1949, 1712, 1677-1678, 1646, 1585
Letzte Erdbeben in der Nähe:
ZeitStärke / TiefeEntfernung / Lage
Samstag, 25. Juni 2022 GMT (3 Beben)
25. Jun. 2022 11:58 (GMT +1) (25. Jun. 2022 10:58 GMT)
1.7

6 km
5.1 km (3.2 mi)
La Palma, 7.2 km südöstlich von Los Llanos de Aridane, Spanien
25. Jun. 2022 02:25 (GMT +1) (25. Jun. 2022 01:25 GMT)
1.7

10 km
6.3 km (3.9 mi)
La Palma, 6.7 km südlich von Los Llanos de Aridane, Spanien
25. Jun. 2022 01:55 (GMT +1) (25. Jun. 2022 00:55 GMT)
1.7

13 km
6.3 km (3.9 mi)
La Palma, 6.4 km südlich von Los Llanos de Aridane, Spanien
Dienstag, 21. Juni 2022 GMT (2 Beben)
21. Jun. 2022 10:04 (GMT +1) (21. Jun. 2022 09:04 GMT)
1.8

6 km
5 km (3.1 mi)
La Palma, 8.3 km südlich von Los Llanos de Aridane, Spanien
21. Jun. 2022 06:16 (GMT +1) (21. Jun. 2022 05:16 GMT)
1.8

18 km
4.8 km (3 mi)
La Palma, 8.7 km südöstlich von Los Llanos de Aridane, Spanien

Beschreibung

The older 2426-m-high northern one is cut by the massive steep-walled Caldera Taburiente, one of several massive collapse scarps produced by edifice failure to the SW. The younger 1949-m-high Cumbre Vieja, the southern volcano, is one of the most active in the Canaries. The elongated volcano dates back to about 125,000 years ago and is oriented N-S. Eruptions during the past 7000 years have originated from the abundant cinder cones and craters along the axis of Cumbre Vieja, producing fissure-fed lava flows that descend steeply to the sea. Historical eruptions at La Palma, recorded since the 15th century, have produced mild explosive activity and lava flows that damaged populated areas. The southern tip of the island is mantled by a broad lava field produced during the 1677-1678 eruption. Lava flows also reached the sea in 1585, 1646, 1712, 1949, and 1971.

La Palma Fotos

La Palma eruption Sep 2021 (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
La Palma eruption Sep 2021 (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Eruption on La Palma on 28 Sep 2021 (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
Eruption on La Palma on 28 Sep 2021 (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
lapalma_k32930.jpg (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
lapalma_k32930.jpg (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
La Palma - the palm (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
La Palma - the palm (Photo: Tom Pfeiffer)
 



La Palma Vulkanreisen:
Europas vulkanischer Außenposten (14-tätige Reise auf die Kanaren: Lanzarote, La Palma, El Hierro und Teneriffa)
La Palma Volcano Special (5-day tour to see the eruption and get to know the island with a volcanologist)

Siehe auch: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8 | NASA FIRMS
App herunterladen
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS-Version

Mehr auf VolcanoDiscovery

Warum gibt es Werbung auf dieser Seite?
Unterstützen Sie unsere Arbeit!
Diese Webseite und die dazugehörigen Apps und Tools instandzuhalten und kostenlos Nachrichten zu Vulkanen, Erdbeben und anderen Themen bereitzustellen, verschlingt enorm viel Zeit und auch Geld.
Wenn Sie die Infos mögen und uns in der Arbeit dazu unterstützen wollen, würden wir uns über eine Spende (über PayPal oder mit Kreditkarte) sehr freuen.
Online Zahlung (Kreditkarte)
Damit können wir Ihnen auch in Zukunft neue Features entwickeln und Bestehende laufend verbessern.Vielen Dank!
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Home | Travel | Destinations | Volcanoes | Photos | Earthquakes | About | Glossary | News | Contact | Privacy | Imprint | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
Follow us:Folge uns auf FacebookFolge uns auf InstagramFolge uns auf TwitterBesuch unseren Youtube Kanal