Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Guaranteed tours
8-16 May 2021: From Stromboli to Etna - Sicila and Eolian Islands (Italy)
24 Jun - 8 Jul 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
30 Jul - 13 Aug 2021: Colors of Iceland: Fire, Earth, Ice and Water - Iceland
: spaces available / : guaranteed / : few spaces left / : booked out
News

No news in this list.

Matutum volcano

stratovolcano 2286 m / 7,500 ft
Mindanao, Philippines, 6.37°N / 125.07°E
Current status: normal or dormant (1 out of 5)

Matutum is a symmetrical stratovolcano located in southern Mindanao, NW of Sarangani Bay and 30 km NNW of General Santos City.
The mountain, a popular hiking destination, has a well-preserved summit cone and a 320 m wide and a vegetated 120 m deep summit crater. The crater is breached by 3 large canyons.

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: explosive
Matutum volcano eruptions: 1911(?), 1290 ± 40 years, 170 BC ± 75, 400 BC ± 50

Latest nearby earthquakes

TimeMag. / DepthDistanceLocation
Sun, 24 Jan 2021 (GMT)
25 Jan 2021 3:54 am (GMT +8) (24 Jan 2021 19:54:00 GMT)
2.3

16 km - More
31 km12 km east of Telafas, Province of Sultan Kudarat, Soccsksargen, Philippines
Fri, 22 Jan 2021 (GMT)
23 Jan 2021 6:13 am (GMT +8) (22 Jan 2021 22:13:00 GMT)
2.1

23 km - More
45 km23 km southeast of Lake Sebu, South Cotabato, Soccsksargen, Philippines
23 January 2021 - 06:13 AM (PST) (22 Jan 2021 22:13:00 GMT)
2.2

1 km - More
31 km17 km east of Lake Sebu, South Cotabato, Soccsksargen, Philippines
Wed, 20 Jan 2021 (GMT)
21 Jan 2021 7:05 am (GMT +8) (20 Jan 2021 23:05:00 GMT)
2.5

10 km - More
27 km8.7 km northeast of Koronadal, Philippines
Tue, 19 Jan 2021 (GMT)
20 Jan 2021 6:04 am (GMT +8) (19 Jan 2021 22:04:00 GMT)
2.2

21 km - More
11 km8.1 km northwest of Polomolok, Philippines

Background

The plains around Matatum volcano are covered by silicic pyroclastic-flow deposits, the youngest of which were radiocarbon dated at about 2000 years ago.
2 thermal areas, Akmoan and Lianan, are found on the WSW flank of the volcano.

Tectonic setting of Matutum volcano
Matutum volcano belongs to the Cotabato Arc, caused by the eastward subduction of the oceanic Celebes Sea microplate along the Cotabato trench under the southern tip of Mindanao Island, which belongs to the Philippine Mobile Belt. Mt Matutum is located 130 km from the trench. Deep-seismic studies show that the subducting slab is only 75-85 km below Mt Matutum volcano.
---
Reference:
Yumul et al (2008) "Tectonic setting of a composite terrane: A review of the Philippine island arc system", Geosciences Journal, v 12 (1), pp 7-17

1911 possible eruption
"Smoke" (i.e. volcanic ash) was seen at the volcano on 7 March 1911. This may indicate a probably small phreatic eruption. (Neumann van Padang, 1953)

See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.