Mauna Loa

Shield volcano 4170 m / 13,681 ft
Big Island, Hawai'i, 19.48°N / -155.61°W
Aktueller Status: unruhig (2 von 5)
Last update: 16 Apr 2021
Mauna Loa volcano with the gentle slopes of a typical shield volcano
Mauna Loa volcano with the gentle slopes of a typical shield volcano

Mauna Loa is the world's largest and one of its most active volcanoes - a giant shield volcano on the Big Island of Hawai'i.

Interaktive Karte zeigen
Typische Tätigkeit: Dominant überschwängliches.
Ausbrüche: 1832, 1843, 1849, 1851, 1852, 1855-56, 1859, 1865-66, 1868, 1870(?), 1871, 1872, 1873, 1873-74, 1875, 1876, 1877, 1879, 1880, 1880-81, 1887, 1892, 1896, 1899, 1903, 1907, 1914-15, 1916, 1919, 1926, 1933, 1935-36, 1940, 1950, 1975, 1984

ZeitStärke / TiefeEntfernung / Lage
Wed, 15 Sep 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
15. Sep. 2021 07:36 (GMT -10) (15 Sep 2021 17:36:53 GMT)
3.2

33 km
34 km (21 mi)
2.3 km südwestlich von Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA
Sun, 12 Sep 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
12. Sep. 2021 01:45 (GMT -10) (12 Sep 2021 11:45:06 GMT)
3.8

36 km
35 km (22 mi)
Nordpazifik, 6.7 km östlich von Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA
Thu, 9 Sep 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
8. Sep. 2021 18:34 (GMT -10) (9 Sep 2021 04:34:50 GMT)
3.5

29 km
42 km (26 mi)
Nordpazifik, 67 km südwestlich von Hilo, Hawaii County, USA
Tue, 7 Sep 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
7. Sep. 2021 02:27 (GMT -10) (7 Sep 2021 12:27:43 GMT)
3.4

34 km
37 km (23 mi)
3.8 km südlich von Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA
Sat, 4 Sep 2021 (GMT) (1 earthquake)
3. Sep. 2021 16:15 (GMT -10) (4 Sep 2021 02:15:30 GMT)
3.4

35 km
35 km (22 mi)
3.1 km südlich von Pāhala, Hawaii County, USA

Beschreibung

Mauna Loa, world's largest mountain and volcano, is a archetype of a basaltic shield volcano in its late mature stage of life, and only about 600,000-1,000,000 years old. Although not erupting as frequently as its younger neighbor Kilauea, it is also one of the most active volcanoes of the world. When it erupts, its eruptions are usually huge and produce large rivers of lava that have repeatedly threatened the town of Hilo.
Mauna Loa rises almost 9 km above the sea floor and the weight of the massive mountain has depressed the oceanic crust down by about 8 kilometers, so the whole pile of volcanic rocks produced from Mauna Loa is probably about 8+5+4=17 kilometers! It has eruptions both from its summit, occupied by a large caldera, and its NE and SW rift zones on the flanks. Almost 90% of Mauna Loa's surface is is covered by lavas less than 4000 years old, while about 50% of its surface is covered by lavas no older than about 1500 years old, while about 25% are covered by lava flows younger than about 750 years, i.,e. emplaced after the formation of the Mokuaweoweo summit caldera.


Mauna Loa Vulkanreisen:
Hawaii - Birthplace of Islands (14 days walking and study tour to Oahu, Kauai, Maui, Hawai'i)

Siehe auch: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Mehr zeigen
App herunterladen
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS-Version

Mehr auf VolcanoDiscovery

Warum gibt es Werbung auf dieser Seite?
Unterstützen Sie unsere Arbeit!
Diese Webseite und die dazugehörigen Apps und Tools instandzuhalten und kostenlos Nachrichten zu Vulkanen, Erdbeben und anderen Themen bereitzustellen, verschlingt enorm viel Zeit und auch Geld.
Wenn Sie die Infos mögen und uns in der Arbeit dazu unterstützen wollen, würden wir uns über eine Spende (über PayPal oder mit Kreditkarte) sehr freuen.
Online Zahlung (Kreditkarte)
Damit können wir Ihnen auch in Zukunft neue Features entwickeln und Bestehende laufend verbessern.Vielen Dank!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery und andere Quellen wie angegeben.
Verwendung von Bildern: Text und Fotos auf dieser Webseite sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Weitere Verwendung und Kopieren ohne vorherige Genehmigung ist untersagt. Wenn Sie Fotos für private oder gewerbliche Zwecke nutzen wollen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.