Oricola-Carsoli volcano

Pyroclastic cone(s) unknown
Italy, 42.15°N / 13.08°E
Current status: (probably) extinct (0 out of 5)

Show interactive Map
[hide map] [enlarge]
Typical eruption style: unspecified
Oricola-Carsoli volcano eruptions: None during the past 10,000 years
Less than 2.58 million years ago (Pleistocene)

Latest nearby earthquakes

TimeMag. / DepthDistance/Location
Monday, September 20, 2021 11:17 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 20, 2021 1:17 pm (GMT +2) (Sep 20, 2021 11:17 GMT)
1.5

7.9 km
28 km (17 mi)
6.7 km north of Avezzano, Province of L'Aquila, Abruzzo, Italy
Sunday, September 19, 2021 01:10 GMT (1 earthquake)
Sep 19, 2021 3:10 am (GMT +2) (Sep 19, 2021 01:10 GMT)
1.4

9.7 km
46 km (29 mi)
Italy: 1 Km NW Prata D'Ansidonia (AQ)
Tuesday, September 7, 2021 09:07 GMT (2 earthquakes)
Sep 7, 2021 11:07 am (GMT +2) (Sep 7, 2021 09:07 GMT)
1.3

15 km
36 km (22 mi)
Italy: 1 Km W Pizzoli (AQ)
Sep 7, 2021 10:21 am (GMT +2) (Sep 7, 2021 08:21 GMT)
1.5

15 km
49 km (30 mi)
20 km north of L'Aquila, Abruzzo, Italy

Background

Oricola-Carsoli, about 40 km SW of L'Aquila, is part of the Intra-Appenine Magmatic Province. Its mongenetic pyroclastic cones are composed of altered breccias, tuff, and surge and fall deposits. They are possibly hydrovolcanic in origin. These deposits were K-Ar dated at about 530 ka (Peccerillo, 2005).
---
Smithsonian / GVP volcano information


See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8
Show more
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

More on VolcanoDiscovery

Why is there advertising on this site?
Support us - Help us upgrade our services!
We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Earthquake archive from 1900 onwards
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most texts and images, in particular photographs, on this website are protected by copyright. Further reproduction and use of without authorization is usually not consented. If you are not sure or need licensing rights for photographs, for example for publications and commercial use, please contact us.