Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near Carterton District, Wellington, New Zealand, in the past 24 hours on Thursday, June 8, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jun 8, 2023 03:05 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 10 quakes above magnitude 2
  • 16 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.

Latest quake: Mag. 1.9 | 89 km S of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 2.8 | Tasman Sea, 75 km NW of Wellington, New Zealand -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near Carterton District, Wellington, New Zealand (updated )

Past 24 hours26 quakes10 quakes M2+
Past 7 days123 quakes51 quakes M2+3 quakes M3+
Past 30 days553 quakes185 quakes M2+13 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 90 days2,073 quakes681 quakes M2+85 quakes M3+8 quakes M4+2 quakes M5+
Past 365 days6,375 quakes2,273 quakes M2+202 quakes M3+22 quakes M4+3 quakes M5+1 quake M6+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (26 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, June 8, 2023 GMT (6 quakes)
Jun 8, 2023 2:44 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 8, 2023 02:44 GMT)
1.9

16 km
89 km south of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 1:09 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 8, 2023 01:09 GMT)
1.8

24 km
South Pacific Ocean, 18 km southeast of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 12:40 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 8, 2023 00:40 GMT)
2.5

14 km
24 km east of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 12:38 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 8, 2023 00:38 GMT)
2.6

15 km
24 km east of Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 12:26 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 8, 2023 00:26 GMT)
1.4

12 km
New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 12:13 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 8, 2023 00:13 GMT)
2.1

18 km
24 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Wednesday, June 7, 2023 GMT (20 quakes)
Jun 8, 2023 11:24 am (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 23:24 GMT)
2.0

50 km
Tasman Sea, 45 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 10:53 am (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 22:53 GMT)
1.2

12 km
New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 10:47 am (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 22:47 GMT)
1.0

21 km
New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 8:53 am (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 20:53 GMT)
2.2

12 km
South Pacific Ocean, 91 km southeast of Palmerston North, New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 5:15 am (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 17:15 GMT)
2.5

94 km
Tasman Sea, 15 km south of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 5:09 am (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 17:09 GMT)
1.8

19 km
34 km east of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 3:38 am (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 15:38 GMT)
2.2

26 km
34 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 2:45 am (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 14:45 GMT)
1.2

5 km
New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 2:38 am (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 14:38 GMT)
1.4

20 km
New Zealand More
Jun 8, 2023 2:19 am (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 14:19 GMT)
1.1

18 km
New Zealand More
Jun 7, 2023 11:30 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 11:30 GMT)
1.9

15 km
South Pacific Ocean, 22 km southeast of Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand More
Jun 7, 2023 10:42 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 10:42 GMT)
1.9

37 km
Marlborough, 41 km northeast of Nelson, New Zealand More
Jun 7, 2023 10:33 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 10:33 GMT)
2.8

49 km
Tasman Sea, 75 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand More
Jun 7, 2023 8:16 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 08:16 GMT)
1.7

30 km
New Zealand More
Jun 7, 2023 8:07 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 08:07 GMT)
1.5

16 km
New Zealand More
Jun 7, 2023 6:17 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 06:17 GMT)
2.3

12 km
Tasman Sea, 28 km southwest of Whanganui, New Zealand More
Jun 7, 2023 6:06 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 06:06 GMT)
1.8

9.2 km
24 km southeast of Blenheim, Marlborough District, New Zealand More
Jun 7, 2023 4:14 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 04:14 GMT)
1.6

14 km
New Zealand More
Jun 7, 2023 4:02 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 04:02 GMT)
1.8

19 km
South Pacific Ocean, 72 km southeast of Palmerston North, New Zealand More
Jun 7, 2023 3:59 pm (GMT +12) (Jun 7, 2023 03:59 GMT)
2.0

19 km
71 km southeast of Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.2 x 109 joules (887 kilowatt hours, equivalent to 0.763 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

Carterton District Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in Carterton District?

The last earthquake in Carterton District occurred 21 minutes ago: Minor mag. 1.9 earthquake - 89 km south of Napier City, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, on Thursday, Jun 8, 2023 at 2:44 pm (GMT +12).

How many quakes were there in Carterton District today?

In the past 24 hours, Carterton District, Wellington, New Zealand had 26 quakes up to magnitude 2.8.

What was the strongest quake in Carterton District today?

The strongest earthquake in Carterton District today occurred 17 hours ago: Minor mag. 2.8 earthquake - Tasman Sea, 75 km northwest of Wellington, New Zealand, on Wednesday, Jun 7, 2023 at 10:33 pm (GMT +12).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Stop Russia's Agression - Support Ukraine
Significant parts of this website use brilliant open-source software developed by Ukrainians. Russia's unprovoked war has killed tens of thousands, displaced millions, and the beautiful country of Ukraine is being destroyed. We cannot be silent even if the topic of this website has nothing to do with politics.
If you like to support Ukraine from abroad:
Ukrainians recommend the Come Back Alive charity. For other options, see StandWithUkraine.
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings