Contact | RSS | EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU

Latest quakes in or near South China Sea in the past 24 hours on Thursday, June 8, 2023 - list, stats and map

Updated: Jun 8, 2023 01:35 GMT -
Felt a quake? Report it!
Show quakes near me!
See quake list

Quakes in the past 24 hours:

  • 1 quake above magnitude 4
  • 5 quakes between magnitude 3 and 4
  • 9 quakes between magnitude 2 and 3
  • 8 quakes below magnitude 2 that people normally don't feel.
A moderate magnitude 4.4 earthquake was felt in Bicol, Philippines, 15 hours ago.

Latest quake: Mag. 3.6 | 16 km W of Agoo, Province of Pangasinan, Ilocos, Philippines -

Strongest quake today: Mag. 4.4 | 37 km SW of Daet, Province of Camarines Norte, Bicol, Philippines -

Recent quakes above magnitude 1.0 in or near South China Sea (updated )

Past 24 hours23 quakes9 quakes M2+5 quakes M3+1 quake M4+
Past 7 days125 quakes61 quakes M2+26 quakes M3+7 quakes M4+
Past 30 days504 quakes257 quakes M2+89 quakes M3+20 quakes M4+1 quake M5+
Past 90 days1,645 quakes823 quakes M2+265 quakes M3+70 quakes M4+10 quakes M5+
Past 365 days8,240 quakes4,450 quakes M2+1,135 quakes M3+380 quakes M4+50 quakes M5+4 quakes M6+1 quake M7+

Quakes in nearby regions

...Read more
Filter by magnitude:

all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Show interactive Map
[smaller] [bigger]
all
1.0+
2.0+
3.0+
4.0+
Showing quakes magnitude 0.1 or higher (23 quakes):
Date and timeMag
Depth
Nearest volcano (distance)LocationDetailsMap
Thursday, June 8, 2023 GMT (1 quake)
Jun 8, 2023 8:57 am (GMT +8) (Jun 8, 2023 00:57 GMT)
3.6

21 km
16 km west of Agoo, Province of Pangasinan, Ilocos, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Wednesday, June 7, 2023 GMT (22 quakes)
Jun 8, 2023 6:35 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 22:35 GMT)
3.8

18 km
Philippine Sea, 37 km north of Santa Ana, Cagayan, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Jun 8, 2023 4:55 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 20:55 GMT)
1.9

35 km
Philippine Sea, 18 km east of Mansalay, Oriental Mindoro, Mimaropa, Philippines More
Jun 8, 2023 4:13 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 20:13 GMT)
1.6

105 km
Philippines: 015 Km N 64° W of Nasugbu (Batangas) More
Jun 8, 2023 3:04 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 19:04 GMT)
1.6

34 km
Philippines: 010 Km S 73° W of Kalawit (Zamboanga Del Norte) More
Jun 8, 2023 2:32 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 18:32 GMT)
2.5

3 km
23 km southeast of Batac City, Province of Ilocos Norte, Philippines More
Jun 8, 2023 2:13 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 18:13 GMT)
2.3

31 km
South China Sea, 199 km west of Manila, Philippines More
Jun 8, 2023 1:47 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 17:47 GMT)
1.8

31 km
Central Luzon, 87 km southeast of Santiago, Philippines More
Jun 8, 2023 12:27 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 16:27 GMT)
1.9

41 km
South China Sea, 50 km southwest of Mariveles, Philippines More
Jun 7, 2023 11:28 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 15:28 GMT)
2.9

30 km
Philippine Sea, 68 km east of Tuguegarao City, Cagayan, Philippines More
Jun 7, 2023 11:21 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 15:21 GMT)
2.1

10 km
22 km southwest of Daet, Province of Camarines Norte, Bicol, Philippines More
Jun 7, 2023 11:21 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 15:21 GMT)
2.0

34 km
11 km southwest of Calapan City, Oriental Mindoro, Mimaropa, Philippines More
Jun 7, 2023 11:13 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 15:13 GMT)
1.5

36 km
Philippines: 009 Km N 21° E of Paluan (Occidental Mindoro) More
Jun 7, 2023 10:38 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 14:38 GMT)
2.6

15 km
15 km west of Batangas, Calabarzon, Philippines More
Jun 7, 2023 8:23 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 12:23 GMT)
3.7

24 km
South China Sea, 91 km west of Dagupan, Philippines
I FELT IT - 1 report
More
Jun 7, 2023 7:57 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 11:57 GMT)
2.3

26 km
40 km east of Rodriguez, Rizal, Calabarzon, Philippines More
Jun 7, 2023 7:50 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 11:50 GMT)
2.8

4 km
31 km southwest of Daet, Province of Camarines Norte, Bicol, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Jun 7, 2023 7:39 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 11:39 GMT)
2.6

3 km
5.5 km east of Semporna, Sabah, Malaysia
I FELT IT
More
Jun 7, 2023 6:22 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 10:22 GMT)
1.8

34 km
38 km southwest of Daet, Province of Camarines Norte, Bicol, Philippines More
Jun 7, 2023 6:16 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 10:16 GMT)
4.4

4 km
37 km southwest of Daet, Province of Camarines Norte, Bicol, Philippines
I FELT IT - 12 reports
More
Jun 7, 2023 4:38 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 08:38 GMT)
3.3

5 km
Philippine Sea, 12 km southwest of Odiongan, Philippines
I FELT IT
More
Jun 7, 2023 4:31 pm (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 08:31 GMT)
3.0

1 km
Philippine Sea, 18 km southwest of Odiongan, Philippines
I FELT IT - 2 reports
More
Jun 7, 2023 11:22 am (GMT +8) (Jun 7, 2023 03:22 GMT)
1.9

34 km
45 km southwest of Dipolog City, Philippines More
Estimated combined seismic energy released: 3.3 x 1011 joules (92.6 megawatt hours, equivalent to 79.6 tons of TNT) | about seismic energy

Earthquake Catalog - Look up past earthquakes

Look up past earthquakes in this area by date or date range:
or
Look up quakes!

South China Sea Earthquake FAQ

When was the latest earthquake in South China Sea?

The last earthquake in South China Sea occurred 39 minutes ago: Light mag. 3.6 earthquake - 16 km west of Agoo, Province of Pangasinan, Ilocos, Philippines, on Thursday, Jun 8, 2023 at 8:57 am (GMT +8).

How many quakes were there in South China Sea today?

In the past 24 hours, South China Sea had 23 quakes up to magnitude 4.4.

What was the strongest quake in South China Sea today?

The strongest earthquake in South China Sea today occurred 15 hours ago: Moderate mag. 4.4 earthquake - 37 km southwest of Daet, Province of Camarines Norte, Bicol, Philippines, on Wednesday, Jun 7, 2023 at 6:16 pm (GMT +8).

Interactive map

Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android

Look up quakes by region or country

Search!
Try our free app!
Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Android | iOS version

Support us - Help us upgrade our services!

We truly love working to bring you the latest volcano and earthquake data from around the world. Maintaining our website and our free apps does require, however, considerable time and resources.
We need financing to increase hard- and software capacity as well as support our editor team. We're aiming to achieve uninterrupted service wherever an earthquake or volcano eruption unfolds, and your donations can make it happen! Every donation will be highly appreciated. If you find the information useful and would like to support our team in integrating further features, write great content, and in upgrading our soft- and hardware, please make a donation (PayPal or Online credit card payment).

Planned features:
  • Improved multilanguage support
  • Tsunami alerts
  • Faster responsiveness
Thanks to your past donations, these features have been added recently:
  • Design upgrade
  • Detailed quake stats
  • Additional seismic data sources
Download and Upgrade the Volcanoes & Earthquakes app to get one of the fastest seismic and volcano alerts online:
Android | IOS
Thank you!
Stop Russia's Agression - Support Ukraine
Significant parts of this website use brilliant open-source software developed by Ukrainians. Russia's unprovoked war has killed tens of thousands, displaced millions, and the beautiful country of Ukraine is being destroyed. We cannot be silent even if the topic of this website has nothing to do with politics.
If you like to support Ukraine from abroad:
Ukrainians recommend the Come Back Alive charity. For other options, see StandWithUkraine.
Sources: VolcanoDiscovery / VolcanoAdventures and other sources as noted.
Use of material: Most text and images on our websites are owned by us. Re-use is generally not permitted without authorization. Contact us for licensing rights.
Volcanoes & Earthquakes
VolcanoDiscovery Home
Volcanoes | Earthquakes | Photos | Volcano News | App
Adventure & Study Travel
Tours to Volcanoes and Volcanic Areas: walking tours, photo tours, study tours
Tours & Dates | FAQ | About us
Get our newsletter!
Company info
Contact | Legal info | Terms & conditions
Follow us
Follow us on facebook Follow us on Instagram Follow us on Twitter Visit our Youtube channel
EN | DE | EL | ES | FR | IT | RU
VolcanoDiscovery GmbH, Germany, Reg. nr.: HRB 103744, EU Tax Id: DE 310 395 322 owned and created by
Dr. Tom Pfeiffer, volcanologist, volcano photographer, tour organizer member of
IAVCEI
Volcanological Society
Ecotourism Greece
Insured by R+V
VolcanoDiscovery © 2004- All Rights Reserved | Privacy - cookie settings