Volcanoes & Earthquakes - new app for Android
Garantierte Reisen
8.-16. Mai 2021: Feuerberge Siziliens - vom Stromboli zum Ätna - Äolische Inseln + Ätna
24. Jun - 8. Jul 2021: Farben von Island: Feuer, Erde, Eis und Wasser - Island
30. Jul - 13. Aug 2021: Farben von Island: Feuer, Erde, Eis und Wasser - Island
: Plätze frei / : garantiert / : Wenig freie Plätze / : Ausgebucht
News:
Fr, 19. Feb 2021, 08:23
Lots of steam and gas at White Island volcano (image: Brad Scott/twitter)
A series of minor steam explosions from the active vent occurred at the volcano at about 02:20 local time today detected by seismic instruments as the volcano observatory GeoNet reported. ... alles lesen
Mi, 3. Feb 2021, 07:51
Gas emissions on the crater floor at White Island volcano today (image: GNS)
Over the last year, a series of thermal infrared images have been regularly collected by helicopter to observe the temperature of steam and gas vents as reported GNS volcanological observatory. Temperatures have shown a gradual decline since the December 2019 eruption, from over 700 °C in February 2020 to 300 °C on 21 January 2021. The gas emission temperatures are now similar to temperatures measured in July 2018. ... alles lesen

White Island

Schichtvulkan 321 m / 1,053 ft
Neuseeland, -37.52°S / 177.18°E
Aktueller Status: normal / ruhend (1 von 5)
Last update: 19 Feb 2021 (series of steam explosions)
Inside the crater of White Island volcano

White Island in the Bay of Plenty ca. 50 km off the North Island's east coast is one of New Zealands most active volcanoes, well known for its spectacular crater with strong hydrothermal activity and sulphur deposits. It is part of the active Taupo volcanic zone and last erupted in 2001 (phreatic explosion).

Interaktive Karte zeigen
Typische Tätigkeit: Explosive (in historic time: frequent small phreatic and phreatomagmatic eruptions)
Ausbrüche: 2019, 2016, 2013, 2012, 2001, 1998-2000, 1998, 1995, 1986-94, 1983-84, 1976-82, 1974, 1971, 1971, 1970, 1969, 1968-69, 1966-67, 1962, 1959, 1958, 1957, 1955, 1947, 1933, 1930, 1928, 1926, 1924, 1922, 1909, 1908 (?), 1886?,1886, 1885 (?), 1885, 1856 (?), 1836, 1826

TimeMag. / TiefeEntfernungEpizenter
Mon, 1 Mar 2021 (GMT) (3 Erdbeben)
1. Mär. 2021 21:18 (GMT +13) (1 Mar 2021 08:18:15 GMT)
1.9

127 km - More
120 km19 km westlich von Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, Neuseeland
1. Mär. 2021 15:20 (GMT +13) (1 Mar 2021 02:20:44 GMT)
2.3

45 km - More
115 kmSouth Pacific Ocean, 140 km nördlich von Gisborne, Neuseeland
1. Mär. 2021 14:16 (GMT +13) (1 Mar 2021 01:16:37 GMT)
1.9

4.2 km - More
14 kmNew Zealand
Sun, 28 Feb 2021 (GMT) (2 Erdbeben)
1. Mär. 2021 12:36 (GMT +13) (28 Feb 2021 23:36:41 GMT)
3.1

54 km - More
75 kmOpotiki District, 72 km östlich von Whakatane, Bay of Plenty, Neuseeland
1. Mär. 2021 03:22 (GMT +13) (28 Feb 2021 14:22:50 GMT)
1.9

161 km - More
108 km11 km nordwestlich von Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, Neuseeland

Beschreibung

Uninhabited 2 x 2.4 km White Island, one of New Zealand's most active volcanoes, is the emergent summit of a 16 x 18 km submarine volcano in the Bay of Plenty about 50 km offshore of North Island. The 321-m-high island consists of two overlapping andesitic-to-dacitic stratovolcanoes; the summit crater appears to be breached to the SE because the shoreline corresponds to the level of several notches in the SE crater wall. Volckner Rocks, four sea stacks that are remnants of a lava dome, lie 5 km NNE of White Island. Intermittent moderate phreatomagmatic and strombolian eruptions have occurred at White Island throughout the short historical period beginning in 1826, but its activity also forms a prominent part of Maori legends. Formation of many new vents during the 19th and 20th centuries has produced rapid changes in crater floor topography. Collapse of the crater wall in 1914 produced a debris avalanche that buried buildings and workers at a sulfur-mining project.
(Source: GVP)

2012 eruption
A new phase of activity started on 5 August 2012, following an increase in seismic activity since July. The eruption consisted in weak ash emissions from a new vent in the Crater Lake. It is the first ash emission from White Island in 12 years. ...mehr

White Island Vulkanreisen:
Träume werden wahr: Vulkan-Weltreise (Reise um die Welt nach Hawai'i, Vanuatu, Neuseeland und Indonesien)

See also: Sentinel hub | Landsat 8

Mehr auf VolcanoDiscovery

Warum gibt es Werbung auf dieser Seite?
Copyrights: VolcanoDiscovery und andere Quellen wie angegeben.
Verwendung von Bildern: Text und Fotos auf dieser Webseite sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Weitere Verwendung und Kopieren ohne vorherige Genehmigung ist untersagt. Wenn Sie Fotos für private oder gewerbliche Zwecke nutzen wollen, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte.